Arts & Culture Festival

Artisan Avenue

The City of Red Deer and the Canada Winter Games Host Society have teamed up to create a winter market at the 2019 Canada Winter Games festival site. Artisan Avenue is a carefully curated event that will showcase an array of ceramics, glass, jewelry, photography, paintings, literary works, sculptural pieces, housewares and other unique handcrafted items, all produced by local authors, artists and crafts people.

Location and Hours of Operation

Location

Artisan Avenue will be located at the Gary W. Harris Celebration Plaza, 5205 48 Avenue, Red Deer.

Hours of Operation

Week 1
Saturday, February 16  4 - 8 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 4 - 8 p.m.
Monday, February 18 2 - 8 p.m.
Thursday, February 21 4 - 8 p.m.
Friday, February 22 4 - 8 p.m.
Week 2
Saturday, February 23 2 - 8 p.m.
Sunday, February 24 4 - 8 p.m.
Wednesday, February 27 4 - 8 p.m.
Thursday, February 28 4 - 8 p.m.
Friday, March 1 4 - 8 p.m.

Store Front Galleries Project

Call for visual artists for downtown window installations

The City of Red Deer is seeking visual artists to participate in the Store Front Galleries initiative in downtown Red Deer during the 2019 Canada Winter Games, February 15 to March 3, 2019. 

Store Front Galleries is a partnership between artists and property owners to create a temporary gallery, exhibition or interactive space in the window-fronts of prime downtown locations. Similar programs in other cities have proven very successful in driving traffic downtown and generating buzz for properties. 

Artists working in any discipline are encouraged to submit ideas. All artists are encouraged to submit but preference will be given to Red Deer and Central Alberta residents.

 Click here to access the submission form (pdf)

The deadline to apply is December 31, 2018.