Red Deer & District FCSS

What is FCSS?

Red Deer & District FCSS

Each municipality has the autonomy to determine the FCSS process at the local level. For that reason, FCSS can look vastly different from one municipality to another.

In this region, Red Deer & District FCSS is structured in a regional partnership of six municipalities which are represented at the FCSS Board as follows:

  • City of Red Deer Municipal Council Members (2)
  • Red Deer County Council Members (2)
  • Town of Bowden Municipal Council Member (1)
  • Village of Delburne Municipal Council Member (1)
  • Village of Elnora Municipal Council Member (1)
  • Town of Penhold Municipal Council Member (1)
  • Members of the public (residents of Red Deer) (4)

The Red Deer & District FCSS Board meets monthly (excluding January, July and August). 

Learn more about the available FCSS Funding.

In each partner municipality, FCSS supports Community Workers and Community Facilitators.

Community Workers

FCSS Community Workers provide direct services to the community or empower the local community to take action on broader community social matters.  They also act as an information and referral agent to ensure that residents are connected with appropriate social services within the region.

Community Facilitators

FCSS Community Facilitators provide consultative and facilitative leadership and support and are rarely involved in direct service delivery. They focus largely on community capacity building through convening and/or contributing to broad social issues that are not owned by any one agency. Their roles range from advocate, educator, capacity builder, convener to coordinator.