Kidz Curbside Connections

Red Deer’s new Kidz Curbside Connections program will visit 16 neighbourhoods this summer to offer free activities and resources to families with young children.
Kids-Curbside-Connection program

The City of Red Deer is teaming up with McMan Family Resource Network, Red Deer Childcare, Family Services of Alberta and the Red Deer Native Friendship Society to offer a new summer program designed to connect families with young children ages 0-6 with early childhood development resources and offer fun, safe activities.

Kidz Curbside Connections program will visit two neighbourhoods each week over eight weeks, for a total of 16 neighbourhoods over the summer. Events are completely free to attend and families will be offered a free, take-home activity kit for their enjoyment.

Residents are asked to only attend the event in their own neighbourhood, or the neighbourhood closest to them, to help minimize broader community interactions. We have selected activities to minimize common touch points and will ask that all attendants practice physical distancing.

Events will be held outdoors and will run from 3 to 5 p.m. as follows:

DateLocationEvent Info
Thursday, August 6 Inglewood Park: Don Campbell School
99 Irving Crescent
Facebook Icon 
Tuesday, August 11 Timberlands: Barry Wilson School
300 Timothy Drive
Facebook Icon 
Thursday, August 13 Lonsdale: Mattie McCullough School
26 Lawford Avenue
Facebook Icon 
Tuesday, August 18 Clearview Meadows Park
Cornett Drive
Facebook Icon 
Thursday, August 20 Kentwood East Park
Kingston Drive
Facebook Icon 
Tuesday, August 25 West Park Community Association
3811 57 Avenue
Facebook Icon 
Thursday, August 27 Oriole Park Community Association
5 Ogden Avenue
Facebook Icon 

 Completed Events

Tuesday, July 7 Bower Community Association
85 Boyce Street
Thursday, July 9 Riverside Meadows Community Association
6021 57 Avenue
Tuesday, July 14 Clearview Ridge: Fr. Henri Voisin School (field)
60 Clearview Drive
Thursday, July 16 Parkvale: Pioneer Lodge
4324 46A Avenue
Tuesday, July 21 Rosedale
2 Roland Street
Thursday, July 23
Rescheduled to August 25
West Park
3811 57 Avenue
Tuesday, July 28 Johnstone: Johnstone Neighbourhood Park
Jewell Street
Thursday, July 30 Anders: Victoria Park
Allan Street
Tuesday, August 4 Normandeau: Normandeau School Playground
53 Noble Avenue

We will continue to update the schedule as new locations are added. Check back or follow us on Facebook for new event information. All events are weather dependent.