January 2019 News Archive

Subscribe RSS Feed Email

Downtown road closures during the 2019 Canada Winter Games

January 25, 2019 2:41 PM
(Red Deer, Alberta)

During the 2019 Canada Winter Games, there will be some traffic disruptions and noise in downtown Red Deer.

To accommodate free downtown festivals during the Games, the following roads will close:

  • 48 Avenue from 51 Street to 53 Street from February 9 to March 5, 2019.
  • Little Gaetz Avenue (50 Avenue) from 49 Street to 48 Street from February 15 to March 3, 2019. 

As part of the 52 North Music + Cultural Festival there will be evening concerts and fireworks from February 16 – March 1. The fireworks will last approximately two minutes and will be at the following times:

Saturday, February 16 – 10:30 p.m. Saturday, February 23 – 10:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 17 – 10:30 p.m. Sunday, February 24 – 9 p.m.
Monday, February 18 – 8 p.m. Wednesday, February 27 – 10:30 p.m.
Thursday, February 21 – 10:30 p.m. Thursday, February 28 – 10:30 p.m.
Friday, February 22 – 10:30 p.m. Friday, March 1 – 10:30 p.m.

For more information about the 52 North Music + Cultural Festival visit: https://www.canadagames.ca/2019/52-north-music-and-cultural-festival

For more information about road closures and downtown events during the 2019 Canada Winter Games, visit: www.reddeer.ca/canadagames.

For more information, contact:

Communications & Strategic Planning
The City of Red Deer
403-342-8147

Christina Verticchio
Manager, Marketing & Communications
2019 Canada Winter Games Host Society
403-597-3200

- end -